Custom fields provide an easy way to collect additional information about your customers or their purchase, like the name of the product they purchased. They can be included when:

You can also store custom fields in the Braintree gateway for reporting purposes.

Custom field types

There are two types of custom fields:

  • Pass-thru fields: These fields are only used with the API. They are designed to pass a value from your checkout form to your servers, where you can store or respond to the data. For example, if you have a checkbox for "Join Mailing List" on your checkout page and you pass this through as a custom field, your servers can respond to this data and add the customer to your mailing list.
  • Store-and-pass-back fields: Data in these fields is stored in the customer and transaction details in the Control Panel. It’s also reflected in all downloadable reports related to customer and transaction details. Keep in mind that you can only search for data within the store-and-pass-back field; you won’t be able to search for the field name itself.

Creating a custom field

There isn’t a way to set up new custom fields via the API, so you’ll need to configure them directly in the Control Panel:

  1. Log into the Control Panel
  2. Navigate to Settings > Processing > Custom Fields
  3. Click Options
  4. Click Add and choose an API name; this is what is passed with your code, so it cannot exceed 255 characters and can't contain any spaces or capital letters
  5. Choose a Display name; this is what will appear in transaction history and Vault records
  6. Under Options, select either Store and Pass Back or Pass Thru
  7. Click Save

Editing or deleting a custom field

  1. Log into the Control Panel
  2. Navigate to Settings > Processing > Custom Fields
  3. Click Options
  4. Under Display Name, click the desired custom field
  5. On the editing form, you can change the field's Display name or toggle between Store and Pass Back and Pass Thru
  6. Click Save
    • You can click Delete instead if you have not used the field and you'd like to remove it entirely; click Yes in the confirmation pop-up if you wish to delete

Still have questions?

If you can’t find an answer, contact our Support team.


← Back to Previous Page